dreamology

Title: Dreamology

Author: Lucy Keating

Genre/s: Young Adult, Contemporary

Pages: 329 pages

SYNOPSIS:

For as long as Alice can remember, she has dreamed of Max. Together they have traveled the world and fallen deliriously, hopelessly in love. Max is the boy of her dreams—and only her dreams. Because he doesn’t exist.

But when Alice walks into class on her first day at a new school, there he is. It turns out, though, that Real Max is nothing like Dream Max, and getting to know each other in reality isn’t as perfect as Alice always hoped.

When their dreams start to bleed dangerously into their waking hours, the pair realize that they might have to put an end to a lifetime of dreaming about each other. But when you fall in love in your dreams, can reality ever be enough?

MY THOUGHTS:

The reason why I wanted to read Dreamology is because it’s about dreams and I’m really fascinated by dreams PLUS it’s our BOTM at our group. I was expecting a lot from this book, but sadly it didn’t reach my expectations. From the middle, it all just went downhill for me. In short, I just wanted to finish it and be done with. It took me weeks to finish the book.

The storyline in this was about Alice trying to work out why she dreamed of Max, and trying to get him to like her more than his girlfriend, and I just didn’t appreciate it. This book just didn’t do it for me, and I lost interest pretty early on unfortunately. I also had a hard time to relate to Alice, I found her pretty immature at times and she was whining a lot. Moreover, the drama really irritated me, with Max changing his mind a few times.

I did enjoy some parts of the book, especially Oliver as a character. I also ship Oliver to Alice rather than Max because Max is always changing his mind while Oliver is this cute guy that would be there for you no matter what. The cover was really gorgeous though. Overall, Dreamology fell flat for me, but I think it is because of my high expectations

 

Rating: ★★★

Untitled

