Book Review: Step Back In Time

stepback

Title: Step Back In Time

Author: Ali McNamara

Genre/s: Romance, Science Ficiton

Pages: 436pages

 “Sometimes we think we know what we want, but we don’t actually know what we need until we find it.

 

SYNOPSIS:

How many lifetimes would you travel to find a love that lasts for ever?

When single career girl Jo-Jo steps onto a zebra crossing and gets hit by a car, she awakes to find herself in 1964. The fashion, the music, her job, even her romantic life: everything is different. And then it happens three more times, and Jo-Jo finds herself living a completely new life in the 1970s, 80s and 90s. The only people she can rely on are Harry and Ellie, two companions from 2013, and George, the owner of a second-hand record store.

If she’s ever to return from her travels, Jo-Jo must work out why she’s jumping through time like this. And if she does make it back, will her old life ever be the same again?

MY THOUGHTS:

After a year of buying this, I finally read it. I bought this on the Book Depository’s Bargain shop for only $7 and when I saw the cover page, I was immediately hooked! That “How many lifetimes would you travel to find a love that lasts for ever?” made me add this book at my cart and checkout as soon as possible. With the title itself, I knew it has a touch of time travel and I haven’t read any time travel books so this would be the first one.

I was really curious about the time travel thing since I haven’t read any book about that topic. This book opened my eyes to time travel and I love it. I love how Jo-Jo travels from decades to decades. With different decades comes different whole new world, the fashion, the trends, the music and more. Hands down to Ali McNamara for perfectly showing us how each decade looks like, I mean I can imagine perfectly each decade, and feels like I was there too.

And The Beatles was mentioned a lot of times, and another band Take That, bands that were really popular in their time. I never heard any songs from The Beatles, but because of this book I will try to listen to them. This book is not just about traveling through time just because Jo-Jo wants to, but because she needs to find and realize about some things that will help Jo-Jo with her future life.

If I could just travel through time, I would. If you guys want to read some fun and feel-good comedy of time travel and romance, then I suggest you definitely read this book.

 

Rating:  ★★★★★

Leave a Reply

