Book Review: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

HP 1

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Author: J.K. Rowling

Genre/s: Fiction, Fantasy, Classics

Pages: 310pages

It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.

 

SYNOPSIS:

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy. He lives with his Uncle Vernon, Aunt Petunia and cousin Dudley, who are mean to him and make him sleep in a cupboard under the stairs. (Dudley, however, has two bedrooms, one to sleep in and one for all his toys and games.) Then Harry starts receiving mysterious letters and his life is changed forever. He is whisked away by a beetle-eyed giant of a man and enrolled at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. The reason: Harry Potter is a wizard! The first book in the “Harry Potter” series makes the perfect introduction to the world of Hogwarts.

MY THOUGHTS:

It was my first time reading Harry Potter (please don’t internet pinch me). I’ve watched the movie a couple of times already, but I still love how magical it feels as I turn the pages after pages. Maybe this would be my favorite book of Harry Potter Series, because I usually love the beginnings, where it all started. Reading the book, it felt like I was there with Harry too. I can feel the excitement when Harry was buying the things he need for Hogwarts.

After how many years, Harry learned that he wasn’t a human, but rather a wizard, a very famous wizard. Everyone knows him. When he thought that he will live with the Dursleys forever, on his 11th birthday everything changed. I find the transferring of the Dursleys from places to places funny because Vernon doesn’t want Harry to read his letter from Hogwarts, and wherever they go, the letters don’t stop sending as well.

Everything in this book is just so magical, even the train to Hogwarts! The 9 ¾ platform. I would also love to get a chocolate frog and collect cards. I can’t forget the Sorting Ceremony! I hope that Hogwarts is real, I want to experience a sorting ceremony also, it would be amazing if I was sorted as Gryffindor or Ravenclaw. I love Hermoine Granger, a very witty Muggle. And Ron Weasley too! I love them trios. They are the perfect squad. On the other hand, Draco Malfoy is the cool kid, the typical villain.

First year students were not allowed to play Quidditch, but Harry got to be the seeker even though he was just a first year student, well he is Harry Potter. The twist with Severus Snape, I mean after all, he wasn’t really the bad guy! The keeper of the keys, Hagrid will also be one of my favs, from the time he left Harry with the Dursleys as a baby, he cried and don’t want to leave Harry just yet and the time when he took care of an illegal baby dragon. I love how Albus Dumbledore was like a fairy godfather to Harry and he knew everything, what would happen and such.

To end this, can I just say that I really enjoyed reading the first book and every single detail of the book, if I could just type everything I loved about it. I will read the 2nd book right after. I do regret that I just read this now, but at least I read it before I turned 20! Thank you J.K. Rowling for creating Harry Potter. ❤

Rating: 5+/5+

Untitled

Leave a Reply

