peculiar

Title: Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children

Author: Ransom Riggs

Genre/s: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery

Pages: 352

 

 “I used to dream about escaping my ordinary life, but my life was never ordinary.

 

SYNOPSIS:

A mysterious island. An abandoned orphanage. A strange collection of curious photographs.

A horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that the children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow—impossible though it seems—they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photography, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

MY THOUGHTS:

This book has been sitting on my shelf for so long and it was a shame that I just read it now. To be honest, I thought this book was a horror kind of a story because the cover was a little spooky and the pictures in the book was really creeping the hell out of me.

It is told from the perspective of Jacob, a 16 year old boy who lives a pretty unextraordinary life in Florida. However, when he was a kid, his grandfather would tell him fascinating stories of his time on an island off the coast of Wales where children with special abilities lived. After his grandfather is killed in strange circumstances, Jacob travels to the island with his father in pursuit of some sort of explanation for his grandfather’s last words.

This was such a unique book. The beginning starts out a bit slow, but don’t let that fool you. It gets much, much better once the story gets going. The pictures in the book really add to the story itself. I loved how the world was explained, it made for a very cool setting. The story was captivating. I was always wondering what was going to happen next.

The only thing that bothers me is the ongoing relationship of Jacob and Emma. I mean Emma was the sweetheart of Jacob’s grandfather way back then, how could they be together? Haha. Anyway, I love the peculiar children specially Olive and Millard! I can’t wait to read the next book!

Rating: 4/5

