Book Review: The Maze Runners

image1

Title: The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner

Genre/s: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopia

Pages: 384

Buy it: Book DepositoryNational BookstoreFully Booked

If you ain’t scared, you ain’t human.

SYNOPSIS:

When Thomas wakes up in the lift, the only thing he can remember is his name. He’s surrounded by strangers—boys whose memories are also gone.

Nice to meet ya, shank. Welcome to the Glade.

Outside the towering stone walls that surround the Glade is a limitless, ever-changing maze. It’s the only way out—and no one’s ever made it through alive.

Everything is going to change.

Then a girl arrives. The first girl ever. And the message she delivers is terrifying.

Remember. Survive. Run.

MY THOUGHTS:

I didn’t hate this book.

That being said, I didn’t love it either.

I also found issue with the pacing. The first 150 or so pages are underwhelming, with a great deal of repetitiveness and not much else. No questions answered, no character development.Characters are really important to me, if I don’t feel anything for the characters then it makes it hard for me to enjoy the book.There were so many times when the characters would have figured things out. They’re supposed to be brilliant kids, and yet they are continually clueless about things that are pretty obvious to the reader.

I continued to the end of the book because I needed answers. I had to know why they were in the maze and what the point of it was. Well I made it to the end, I got my answers and they didn’t make any sense.

I would like to give this series a second chance and read the next book on September before I watch the movie.

Rating: 2.8/5

Cheers

thebookmaiden

2 thoughts on “Book Review: The Maze Runners

  1. I didn’t absolutely love this book or series either, although I really enjoyed the movie adaptation (which may or may not have had a lot to due with the fact that it starred Dylan O’Brien). I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about the next books. Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

