image1

Title: Wonder

Author: R.J. Palacio

Genre/s: Realistic Fiction, Family, Contemporary

Pages: 316

Buy it: Book DepositoryNational Bookstore 

Everyone in the world should get a standing ovation at least once in their life.

SYNOPSIS:

You can’t blend in when you were born to stand out.

My name is August. I won’t describe what I look like. Whatever you’re thinking, it’s probably worse.

August Pullman wants to be an ordinary ten-year-old. He does ordinary things. He eats ice cream. He plays on his Xbox. He feels ordinary – inside.

But Auggie is far from ordinary. Ordinary kids don’t make other ordinary kids run away screaming in playgrounds. Ordinary kids don’t get stared at wherever they go.

Born with a terrible facial abnormality, Auggie has been homeschooled by his parents his whole life, in an attempt to protect him from the cruelty of the outside world. Now, for the first time, he’s being sent to a real school – and he’s dreading it. All he wants is to be accepted – but can he convince his new classmates that he’s just like them, underneath it all?

MY THOUGHTS:

The first thing that came into my mind when I saw this book “Is this story about a one-eyed boy?” because of the cover. I know, I’m sorry, we should not judge a book by its cover really. I love the book! I just read it half a day. I can’t put down the book once I started reading it.

It’s all about Auggie, a 10 year old kid that was born with facial abnormalities. It all started when his parents decided to enroll him to a school because they thought he need to learn more things not just the things her mother home schooled him. At first, Auggie didn’t really like the idea, but then he agreed. From there, a lot of things happen, there were these ups when he found a friend named Summer, and then downs when he heard that his “friend” Jack bad mouth him but at the end Jack really started to hang out with him.

The book was narrated by Auggie and some other people who whose lives he touches forever. You can see their perspective about what happen to a part of the book, their reaction deep down and how they live their life. I love Summer because she befriended Auggie even though he have facial abnormalities. I also love his Family, very over protective to him and you can see how close their family was, always saying “I love you” with each other. Their English professor also have new precepts every month where at the end of the month they need to write an essay about it, about what it means to them and I love that idea.

 I really like this book because it shows that don’t judge people by how they look or what they like. This book should be read by everyone, not just teens, but also adults. It really leaves you with a lesson that will stay with you forever. The lesson is that “Don’t judge other people based on what you can see. They are more than that.” We should not judge other people just because they don’t look like us, they also have their own feelings, and we should be more considerate with what we are saying to other people. They have a lot of things that they can offer, we don’t know that maybe they are fun to be with.

I really recommend this book! It has been just a light and easy read. I swear, once you read this book, it will be hard for you to put it down.

Rating: 5/5

Cheers ❤

thebookmaiden

P.S.: I decided to put my own pictures of the book per review. Please don’t forget to check my instagram for more beautiful pictures.

